Friday, May 4, 2012

Mountain West officially adds Aggies, Spartans

The Mountain West made it official and announced today that San Jose State and Utah State have accepted invitations to join the Conference, effective with the 2013-14 academic year. The addition of the Spartans and Aggies on July 1, 2013, will bring the full-time membership of the Mountain West to nine institutions, seven of whom will participate in the sport of softball.

Hawai'i will compete in football only, while Air Force and Wyoming do not sponsor the sport of softball.

With Boise State and San Diego State both set to leave the conference after next season, that means the 2014 Mountain West softball teams will be:

  • Colorado State
  • Fresno State
  •  Nevada
  •  New Mexico
  •  San Jose State
  •  UNLV
  •  Utah State