Sunday, July 1, 2012

Fresno State, Nevada officially join the MW

They're here!

The sport of softball in the Mountain West Conference officially has two new members as of this morning.  Fresno State and Nevada joined the MW today, further strengthening the conference.

The Bulldogs have advanced to more NCAA softball tournaments than any team in the nation, reaching 30 of the past 31.  Fresno State has been to 12 Women's College World Series and has advanced all the way to the national championship game four times.  The Bulldogs won the national title in 1998, garnering the first, and still only, NCAA softball crown for a team from either the WAC or Mountain West.

Fresno State's 1998 championship run is the last time a team outside the Pac-12, Big 12, Big Ten or SEC has not only won the NCAA softball title, but even reached the championship game.

The Bulldogs won at least a portion of the WAC title (regular-season or postseason tournament) championship 11 times in the past 17 years.

Nevada arrives with some postseason experience of its own, having won the WAC tourney crown as recently as 2006 and last reaching the NCAA Tournament in 2009.  In 2008, Nevada (along with Fresno State) was one of four WAC teams to advance to an NCAA regional championship game.